When your professional career is at stake due to a mistake that you committed unknowingly, you should hire a license defense lawyer to save your career and reputation. It can be a drunk driving complaint or taking non-prescribed medicine for mental health issues; the charges can be anything, and if found valid, can doom your career. That is why it is essential to hire an attorney who will advocate on your behalf and protect your rights.
Who Needs License Defense?
Anyone who has a license to practice his/her job will need license defense lawyers if their job is at risk. From physicians to social workers to accountants, the list is endless. Even if you have a driving license and you have been caught driving under the influence of alcohol, your license may be canceled.
There are many reasons why your professional license may be at risk. Some of them are as follows:
• Misrepresentation or fraud to the company or people you are working for
• Alcohol or drug abuse including drink and drive cases
• Violent crimes including domestic violence involving family members
• Embezzlement or theft
The problem with your license at threat is that even if you are found not guilty for the charges against you, there are chances that you may still lose your professional license. However, you can prevent this by hiring a professional lawyer who has experience in defending your rights and will not let your professional license go in vain.
License Defense In South Carolina
Disciplinary reviews often have lasting implications for the defendant. Even if the claim is meritless, you will need an experienced lawyer to protect your stake and license. It will be wise to keep shut in front of the inspector to avoid blurting out essential information that your lawyer may need while defending the case.
Depending on the profession you are in, the charges may change according to the severity of the claim against you. For example, if you are arrested for a DUI case for the first time with a BAC level more than 0.15, you will not only lose your license but will also have to pay $1000, serve your time in jail, and also do community service as specified. Irrespective of whether you are guilty or not, your license will be taken away, and your lawyer has to defend the case to get it back.
License Defense In Virginia
Similar to South Carolina, there are license defense rules in Virginia too. The claim against you and the severity of the charges will decide the fate of your license. For example, offenders for reckless driving in Virginia may have to go to jail for a year and pay a fine of $2500. Plus, your driver’s license will be suspended for six months, and you will go on the DMV record for the same length of time.
License defense is a tricky job because the lawyer has to fight the case on its merits. Since there is a high risk of your career falling out, make sure you hire an experienced lawyer to fight such a case.